The Diary of Clementine~ Entry One

Hello!

Clementine will be sharing entry number one today with us.  She plans to keep a pretty regular diary, but isn’t sure if she will always remember.


Hi.  I’m Clementine.  And you are my diary.  That sounds silly, let me cross it out.

Dear Diary,

Hello there!

This first entry is mostly about my living quarters and my fellow bunnies living with me.

There are three bunnies that share this part of the big rabbit cage.  The whole rabbit cage is divided into three parts: the babies cage, the doe’s cage and the cage where Olaf lives.

The three bunnies in my part of the cage are Diamond,

050
She looks so grumpy.

Lily,

032

And Willow.

040

Oh! Here is Olaf, our next-door neighbor.

080

Diamond is not nice to me.  She bites me if I get close to her and is always glaring at me.  Willow says it’s because she is territorial.  I think she is just jealous. The humans put her in a cage inside the pen where she stays most of the time.  Willow says they will let her out when she gets used to me.

Lily is doing better than she was.  I think sometimes Diamond convinces her that I am bad, and then she bites me.  But lately she isn’t so touchy and she has been allowing me to cuddle with her a little bit.

Willow is so nice!  She is always friendly and even Diamond likes her.  Willow tells me things I have to learn about my new home, and she is so nice!  I love to cuddle with her!  She is about the same age as me and belongs to Allison.  I don’t know how much bigger she is than me because she is so fluffy!  I love her.  She is my best friend.  The humans call her cute, but I think she is the most beautiful bunny there ever was. Her fur is so pretty when the humans brush it and it droops down.  She says the fluff can be a nuisance sometimes.  I don’t think it would be!   It would keep me so warm in winter.

I haven’t seen Olaf much.  Once His owner, Jeff, held him in our cage but otherwise I just hear what he does by listening to him through the wall that separates his cage from ours. Lots of times I hear him chuckle, say something about being late, and then chuckle again.  Willow says this is because he thinks his great-great grandfather’s aunt’s niece’s grandfather’s mother’s husband was the White Rabbit that was in the story Alice in Wonderland. Nobody believes this except maybe Coffee Bean, the kitten that is sometimes in Olaf’s cage.  I am kind of scared of him because he has bright pink eyes.  Diamond makes fun of me when I say that and calls me a ‘fraidy-rabbit.  But Willow is always there to glare at her.

Coffee Bean is a medium sized kitten, but very fluffy.  He is always biting a piece of string or chasing me or another bunny.   He’s okay, I guess.  I don’t like it when he pretends to eat my ears though, it’s kind of scary.  But Willow says he is only playing, and I guess maybe she is right. He also has one eye that looks all cloudy and blueish. I don’t think he can even see out of it.

I still think about my old home a lot. My sister, Bob*, played with me almost every day and always licked between my ears, the place I can’t clean myself.  Now Willow does that.  She is almost as good as Bob because Bob had a quick temper and would sometimes nip me if I fussed too loud.  But I do miss her.

055

When I first arrived Willow thought I was strange and whispered to Lily that I was one of those funky bunnies with the droopy ears, the kind she had seen somewhere or other when her owner had taken her to visit another rabbit.  I was astonished to see these strange rabbits that had ears sticking straight up! Bob had told me there was such a thing, but I didn’t believe her. Now I do!

097

Our pen is very roomy.  It used to be a pen for calves, but the Dad human put wire around it so barn cats couldn’t get in.

There is also a creature outside that sometimes looks in on us.  Willow is very frightened by her and Diamond is positively terrified.  I am extremely scared too.  Just today a little human was opening the door and the creature ( Willow says her name is Maggie) leaped inside and got me in her mouth!  I was so, so, so, SO scared! I screamed, which is what bunnies do if they get hurt.  Then the Megan human came out and got Maggie to let go of me.  All the other humans were very mad and kept yelling, “NO!” at her.  I hope she never gets me again.   Thankfully I think she only made my left hind paw bleed a little bit.

After that Megan took me inside and held me while she did school.  That was pretty fun.  At first I was so scared from what had just happened that I could hardly move.  But then she put me under a little spot in the computer desk and I took a little nap down there.

DSCN0746[1] DSCN0748[1]

Once Diamond was outside with the Allison human when Maggie came and grabbed her.  She carried her off into a field until the humans finally got her to drop Diamond.  That would have been so scary!

Humans are pretty nice. They feed you and pet you.  When I first came here hardly anyone had held me before and so I was very scared when ever someone held me.  But now I am learning to get used to it.

059Winter is coming soon.  Willow and I have never been in winter.  Diamond has lived through a whole winter and Lily was born in February so they know they can survive through winter.  What if I can’t!?  What if Willow’s fur gets frosted and it all falls out!?

I guess I’m gonna have to wait and see.

Love,

Clementine

*Finally, about Bob’s name.  My mother was not the most intelligent of bunnies, and she had already picked out our names before we were born.  Of course, it didn’t occur to her that we would possibly be girls.  She named me Howard.  I was actually the runt.  Lily says she was the runt. I barely survived but my other owner finally got me through and here I am!


Do you want more entries?  😀  It was certainly fun to write!

Sign-off

I really have no idea if that was the other rabbit’s name.  Probably not.  I actually was thinking of getting ‘Bob’ at one point. 🙂

10 thoughts on “The Diary of Clementine~ Entry One

  1. Awwww, that was soooo cute! I’m glad Clementine likes Willow. (Although I guess it’s hardly possible not to like her. ☻) I’m sure Willow is glad to have a fellow playmate. I can’t wait for more! Hugs and kisses to Clementine (and Willow and Lily and Diamond…)

    Like

Leave a Comment! (Please, keep it clean. No "OMG" or cursing/swearing/taking God's name in vain please.)