Off to Assateague

This coming Monday my family is going to Assiteugue and Chincoteague Island. I won’t be gone long, just six days, so there isn’t really a need to tell you all, but I wanted to make a post anyway. 

My parents asked us where we wanted to go for vacation,  and I couldn’t think of anywhere really, except maybe Canda and that’s too far. And if/when we go there again I’d rather be in an RV. Mom suggested Chincoteague and Assateague, and that sounds fun! Hopefully we can bring our bikes or rent some and bike around the island, like we did on Mackinack Island in Michigan last year. We got covered in mud (it was raining) and probably some horse droppings (there are only horse and carriages and bikes allowed for transportation on the island) but I had a lot of fun. We rented a tandem along with regular bikes and that was a lot of fun to ride on!

Also, I need books. I only have one or two currently, and those might not even last me the whole way there. I suppose I shall survive anyway. I think we’re going to the library today so possibly I can find a few more.

Hopefully I can get some pictures of the wild horses there and then I can finally have something to post about. In case you haven’t noticed, I haven’t been having many post ideas lately. I may make a post while I’m at Assiteague but probably not.

I’m still not exactly sure what we’re gonna do there (we just decided on it a week or two ago) but it sounds like fun. I think we might bike, kayak, and go to the beach. And I don’t know what else we’ll do. I think maybe go clamming? That sounds fun. The water probably won’t be the warmest, but I swam in Maine so surely it won’t be as bad as that!

To wrap this odd post up, how ’bout a picture of a tiger lily and a pool picture?

Tiger Lily macro photography orange stamen pollen

The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart pool swimming photography

That’s the second book in the Mysterious Benedict Society series, by the way.

To sum this post up: we’re going on vacation, Macinack Island is a lot of fun, I need books and post ideas, tiger lilies are so pretty, and I really like the Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart. (And we went swimming.)

have you been to assateague or chincoteague?

have you read the mysterious benedict society?

megan signoff

p.s. I didn’t take the picture for the featured image, it came from Unsplash.com. 😉

58 thoughts on “Off to Assateague

Leave a Comment! (Please, keep it clean.)

