Random Snippets

Today I will be doing a post filled with random snippets of things I’ve been doing or photographing lately. Like my tagline says, my blog is basically a bunch of random snippets made into posts, but I decided to make a random snippet of a post filled with random snippets. 🙂

tame barn cats text

The first subject will be on Marigold, a cat we found in our barn a while ago. I haven’t seen her around much lately, but I did get a few pictures of her. We’d never seen her before, but she has obviously been around people because she is really sweet and loves to get attention.

0 (3)

DSCN9952DSCN9945amber (3)

killdeer nests text

The next topic is on killdeer. Some killdeer birds laid eggs around our farm (we’ve found three nests so far) and we saw the babies from two of them! They look like long-legged chicks. Kind of. The one in the second picture had just hatched and was still resting. Its sibling (not pictured) wasn’t even all the way out of the shell!

DSCN0039baby killdeer (1)

orchids text.png

We bought mom an orchid for Mother’s Day (and gave her a card that said “we’re glad to be y’orchids”) and today I took them outside to get a few pictures. The lighting was kind of harsh, but I believe I got a few good ones. 🙂

DSCN0060DSCN0070DSCN0066DSCN0064DSCN0063DSCN0062DSCN0061

blogiversary text.png

Finally, my blogiversary (blog anniversary) was last Saturday, on the 13th! My blog is now three years old. I can tell that my photography has improved, along with my typing and writing skills. And spelling, and grammar, and graphic design, and… you get the point. 🙂 Anyway, here’s a quick overview of a few stats. I also included some funny search terms people found my blog by.

totalviewspostsvisitors graphic

top commenters graphic

funny search terms graphic

And thus concludes my post of random snippets. I hope you enjoyed it!

which was your favorite orchid picture?

have you seen killdeer before?

megan signoff

71 thoughts on “Random Snippets

  1. Beautiful photos! Happy Late Blogiversery! What a cute cat, Marigold is such a cute name! Hmm…I think I like Orchid picture 2 or 3…can’t decide. Nope, I have never seen a killdeer, but yippee for killdeer chicks!

    Like

  2. I love that picture of the orchids against the blue sky! So pretty. The baby killdeer are so cute! We have a nest with 5 baby barn swallows on our porch. Baby birds are so awkward and funny. 😛
    Happy Blogoverisary, Megan!! YAY I’M A TOP COMMENTER! It’s really funny that people found your blog by searching stuff about Google and Bing. 😄

    -Clara ❤

    Like

    1. I know! I love the speckled pattern on the eggs. THANK YOU MAY! I know, it doesn’t feel like I’ve been blogging that long. o_O
      Yes you are! Although I think it’s just for the past five months or something, but YAY FOR MAY! (Hey, that rhymes. Things rhyme unless you try thinking of something that rhymes.)
      ~Megan~

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I really enjoyed reading this! Marigold is SUPER cute, and my mom loves orchids, we have them all around our house. Happy late blogiversary! You totally deserve all the awesome stats you have! Oh, and while I’m thinking of it, do you know how to access your blog’s search terms? I’ve tried before, but couldn’t figure out how, and well you’re the person who I always go to for blogging/Wordpress help! Thanks, and amazing snippets!
    ~Sam

    Like

    1. That’s great! 😀 She is. 🙂 Wow, that sounds neat! Orchids are so vibrantly beautiful.
      Thanks Samantha! Oh, you just go to Stats (in “my sites”) and then go to years (so you can see as many as possible) and then scroll down and it should say “Search Terms” down by the visitors and views. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Oooh, this was a fun post! Marigold is so cute, and so are the killdeer. 🙂 Also the orchid pictures are really pretty! One of my favorites is the first one, but I like them all. And CONGRATULATIONS on your blogiversary! HA HA those search terms are hilarious. 😄

    Like

  5. Ooh, awesome! Aww, Marigold is sooo cute! *heart eyes* And the baby birds are soo cute, too! ❤ My favorite orchid photo was the first, I think. 😉 Congratulations on 778 followers!! Wow, I can't believe I'm a top commenter! 😄 Haha, funny searches. 😄 I think I'll search something silly up right now just for fun. 😄 😉
    -Sara ❤

    Like

      1. Yep, yep and yep! You’re very welcome! ❤ Aw, that's so sweet of you to say! ❤
        Hehe…well check on your searches, maybe you will see the funny search I did… 😄 😉

        Like

      2. Oh oh oh, I thought it would be the search engine on your blog. My bad. 😄 Hehe!
        What’s so bad about Google?? 😯😦 *hugs my Google* 😄

        Like

      3. Alright, I admit it, Bing is *COUGHS LOUDER THAN YOU* better than I thought.
        😭😖😭 But you still haven’t converted me. 😄 I dare you to comment this on Clara’s blog… “DO YOU THINK GOOGLE IS BETTER THAN BING??? *cracks knuckles*” in her Poesy’s bedroom post. 😎 😄

        Like

      4. OH YEAH?
        *surrenders* Okay, maybe Bing is the least teeny bit okaay… 😄 But…
        P.S. I was scrolling through your Pinterest and I saw a photo of Barney Fife from the Andy Griffith Show…does your family watch it?? Because my family watches it all the time! ☺

        Like

      5. OH YOU THINK SO.
        That’s awesome! My family has watched basically all of them, too (except the newer color ones)! I was surprised to see that, because not many other families love it as much as we do! My favorite show is the one about the three escaped convict ladies – it’s so funny! How about you? Wow, there is a real Mayberry? That is so cool! I would love to go there. 😉

        Like

      6. YES. (And I commented on Clara’s blog)
        Yeah, some people in my family don’t want to watch the color ones, but I wouldn’t mind to. Although without Barney… SNIFF. Oh yeah, that one’s hilarious! I like the second episode in season one, The Man Hunt, but I also like the New Doctor. Barney is hilarious. 😄
        Yeah! It wasn’t quite the same, because the filmed the movies in Hollywood, but the Hollywood Mayberry is based off of Mount Aries. (The North Carolina Mayberry)

        Liked by 1 person

      7. (I saw it 😝)
        Yeah, same! Other people in my family like black-and-white, but I kinda want change with color. But the channel that we watch it on is going to start again with color this evening, as for a while they’ve only been doing black -and-white! Isn’t the Man Hunt where Andy captures a criminal and ties him up to a tree, and then Barney lets him go? 😄 And the New Doctor is where a new doctor comes in and Barney (silly Barney 😄 ) assumes that he is going to steal Ellie away, right? Hehe, that one is funny – I especially like the last part – “Now, let me give you a great big great kiss, honey” and then Andy and Barney run in to find Ellie giving Opie a kiss since he’s hurt! 😄
        Unfortunately I have to go, but I enjoyed this little chat (GOOGLE FOR DA WIN)!

        Like

      8. Yeah, I think color would be neat too.
        No, I think that’s Andy’s Vacation. The Man Hunt is where Barney first gets to be deputy and he’s all scared but of course pretends to be in control. And yep, that’s the New Doctor! 😄
        Did you know you can watch them for free if you have Amazon Prime? I don’t know if you do, but I just thought I’d tell ya. 🙂
        Okay, bye! I enjoyed it too! (NO NEVER. BIING.)
        ~Megan~

        Liked by 1 person

      9. Ohhh! (Obviously I don’t know the na!we for the shows…) Hehe, oh Barney. 😄
        Yep, I’ve done that! But it’s much nicer to sit around on my family’s couch and watch shows together. 😉

        Like

  6. AHHH HAPPY BLOGIVERSARY!! And lovely photos — Marigold, the nests, and the orchids are all beautiful!

    P.S. OUR LOCAL SHELTER PUT THREE 13-WEEK-OLD BUNNIES UP FOR ADOPTION AND BELIEVE ME WHEN I SAY THEY. ARE. ADORABLE. (but still no luck with Mom, soooo . . . :'((( )

    Like

  7. Those were some neat orchids back there! You’re amazing at photography. 😀 Those killdeer eggs were really pretty, and Marigold was adorable, and those search terms were hilarious. And haha, I’m a really bad commentor. 😎
    Congrats on your blogiversary, yo!

    Like

      1. Nup, they weren’t. Haha, I take that as a compliment! Don’t think you knew this, but “my” ordchids were from a garden I passed by. 🙂

        Like

  8. OhMyGoodness. I’m a top commenter? WOAH!!! 😮 😀
    HAPPY BLOGIVERSARY! That’s so neat that you’ve been blogging for 3 years! Mine (my first) is actually coming up really soon, too, come to think of it… 😮
    Aww, that’s so sweet that you’ve got little killdeer chicks around! 🙂
    That card made me laugh 😄 . So clever!
    ~Gracie

    Like

  9. YAY! Happy Blogiversary, Megan! I’m so happy that I found your blog. I remember looking at your blog during the first BIBPC but being too scared to comment because I didn’t want people to see my email. 😛 😄
    But anyway, I’m so happy that I’ve gotten to know you over these months/year and become your pen pal. ❤ And I'm also honored to be a top commenter! Wowza! 😀
    Oh, and I also loved all of the photos! You're a wonderful photographer. 🙂

    Like

  10. Ooh, so beautiful!!! My favorite orchid pic was #7 I think! And the baby killdeer was adorable!!! 😀 ❤ I've never seen them in person before, but I think God really made their eggs neat, how they blend in and how they're laid in paths!! Happy Blogaversary!!!! 😀 I ❤ your blog!!! 😀

    Like

  11. Hiya Megan
    Someone recently commented on my blog asking me to help them understand the idea of ‘button swapping’. I did my best to explain the process to them. I was just wondering if it was ok with you that I recommended your ‘button designing services’? I gave this girl the link to your blog and showed her my blog button. I think she will be in contact with you soon. Hope that’s alright with you?

    The link to her blog is https://lampteacupoverthinking.wordpress.com

    Thank you and great post as always!
    Your friend,
    Gracie

    Like

Leave a Comment! (Please, keep it clean.)

