Interview with Anika Joy

Hello everyone!

In my giveaway I did a while back, I said that the person who got second place would get to be featured on my blog with an interview. AnikaΒ was the blogger who won second, and so here’s the interview I did with her!

Just so you know, I did this interview right before she switched blogs. πŸ™‚

Also, you guys should head on over to The Art Lab to check out the winner of the Wuzzing Contest!


M: When did you start blogging and why?
A: I started blogging on January 17th, 2016. I had been on the computer, when I found a really cool bog (I can’t remember which one, though). I asked my mom if I could start a blog, since I was already into writing and it could be part of my school, kinda like a writing project. She said yes and here I am!

M: What is one problem you had when you first started blogging?
A: Probably figuring out what to write about…I didn’t have many ideas back then.Β πŸ˜‰

M: Is there anything you miss from when you first started blogging?
A: Hmm…not really! I think things are way better now then they were before.Β πŸ™‚

M: What was one of the first bloggers you met?
A: Sunny @ Everything Fun Under the Sun was one of the very first bloggers I met. She is so funny and happy! She hasn’t posted on her blog in over 8 months, but I still follow her in hopes of seeing her write another post someday.
M: YES! SUNNY SHOULD COME BACK!
A: I wish Sunny would come back…I miss her. But, I’ll keep waiting no matter what. πŸ™‚

M: What are some of your main hobbies?
A: Well, I blog, write short stories, novellas, and novels. I like to sketch and I sing in a large choir. I also love volleyball, but haven’t taken a class in a while. πŸ™‚

M: You said you write – how often do you write? And what is your favorite place to write in?
A: I write for anywhere from 1 to 5 hours a day (unless I’m grounded, of course). It really depends on how much I need to get done. πŸ˜€

M: What’s one of your favorite sketches?
A: If you mean one that I did (I don’t have a picture) but it is one of my whole family together that I colored in, framed, and gave to my parents for Christmas in 2015. XD

M: When did you first play volleyball?
A: I am pretty sure I was seven or eight…I was looking for things I wanted to take over the summer in the activity catalog, and I came across volleyball! I loved doing it for as long as I did. I hope to take more lessons someday. πŸ™‚

M: What’s one hobby of yours that is unusual?
A: Hmm…I guess it is playing with dolls. When you look at me, I don’t really look like the “playing-with-dolls” type. I don’t enjoy it as much as I used to, but I will pick up a Barbie or American Girl doll every once in a while and play with my sisters. XD

M: I know there’s a lot of other doll bloggers out there, but have you posted about dolls much on your blog?
A: I actually have never posted about dolls on my blog. I do not have a good camera, so I can’t take pictures, and I don’t find it very fun doll blogging if I can’t add pictures. If I could, I would take dozens of pictures and make photo stories.

M: What would you consider your biggest blogging accomplishment?
A: Probably having a blog tour for my soon-to-be-published children’s book. I am actually in the midst of preparing my blog tour for people who signed up. I never thought I would have the honor of having a blog tour and getting a book published, so that’s pretty cool. XD

M: What’s the title of your book? When will it be available? (That’s super neat, by the way!)
A: It is called Penny’s New Beginning and will be available on March 23rd on Amazon. I am SO excited!!!!

M: How long did it take you to write it?
A: I wrote Penny’s New Beginning in about two months when I was nine. Then, when I was eleven, I came back to it and edited, rewrote, and got beta readers for it. After drawing a cover and sending it to a professional editor, I decided that I was REALLY going to get it published!! I was really in shock for a few days. πŸ˜‰

M: What’s another accomplishment from the real world?
A: Being accepted to have my short story published in a magazine. It took about nine months from the time I sent my story in by mail until I was holding the magazine in my hands, but I’d gladly do it all over again just for fun. πŸ™‚

M: What was your magazine story about?
A: It is called Katy Runs the Store. My grandparents own a store and I started working there when I was eight (it was an awesome way to make money) and then I had an idea to write a short story about a girl who ran a store when her father was away. You can read it right here if you want: Katy Runs the Store. πŸ˜€


And that’s it! Thanks for doing this interview, Anika! It was lots of fun to come up with questions and to see your answers.

megans-sign-off

 

19 thoughts on “Interview with Anika Joy

  1. MWAHAHAHA FIRST LIKE (and perhaps first comment???) This was a really cool interview! I had thoughts about everything, but they flew out of mybhead. XD Also, WOWOW A BOOK GETTING PUBLISHED??? THAT’S AWESOME!!! And wow, I’m starting to think I was a scaredy-cat (I probably am though XD ) — it took me a MONTH to work up the nerve to ask my mom to start a blog! XD

    Like

  2. I enjoyed this interview very much! I am doing an interview with a young woman soon and I’m kinda nervous because I don’t know what to ask or what to talk about.

    Like

Leave a Comment! (Please, keep it clean. No "OMG" or cursing/swearing/taking God's name in vain please.)

