Feeding the Rabbits

Hey guys! Today I will give you a tour on how we feed the rabbits and what it involves. Normally Allison and I spilt the job (one person feeds them, the other person give them water). To start with, you need to measure out the right amount of food.

Megan 230 (800x600)

You have to fill up three feeders: one for Willow, one for the other does, and one for Pippin. For Pippin and Willow we have nice little wire baskets we use.

Megan 231 (800x600)

For the does, we put the food holder on their cage inside the rabbit pen.

Megan 232 (800x600)

Pippin’s food and water basket is built into his snuggli. He is a very skittish rabbit and hides most of the time. He hasn’t been eating or drinking much at all since we got him, so I did this hoping he would drink more. We’ll have to see…

Megan 234 (800x600)

Next you have to get the rabbits hay. I just toss Willow and Pippin each a handful of hay, and for the rabbits I get another wire basket my brother rigged up and stuff it with hay from the hay bale that sits outside the rabbit hutch.

Megan 243 (800x600)

It sits nicely on two angled nails in the bunny pen.

Capture5657tyihb

For the watering part we just gather up all four water bottles and fill them up at the convenient hydrant, right outside the hutch.

Megan 239 (800x600)

It’s easy enough to put them on the cage, but sometimes the wire holder gets lost and that, my friends, is annoying.

Megan 241 (800x600)

The last part isn’t required, but I like to do it. We have a willow tree outside the hutch. It’s not a weeping willow – I think it might be a Chinese Willow. Anyway, since rabbits can eat willow leaves and branches I like to tear a branch off for the rabbits.

Megan 249 (800x600)

It helps their teeth not to become too long (rabbit’s teeth never stop growing) and give them some fresh greens.

Megan 250 (800x600)

Sometimes you have to repair a toppled snuggli or perhaps give them extra water if it’s a really hot day.

Megan 251 (800x600)

Megan 242 (800x600)

And when you get out and in, you must always beware of Maggie. She wants the bunnies.

Megan 238 (800x600)

Remember to latch the doors! ๐Ÿ˜›

Megan 252 (800x600)

I realize I’ve been doing a lot of rabbit posts lately. Oh well. ๐Ÿ™‚

megan handwritten sign off4

I’m making a piรฑata for my birthday. It’s going to be a hot air balloon. Either white and yellow or white and light blue striped.ย Hmm…

30 thoughts on “Feeding the Rabbits

  1. One question, you have all of the bunnies in one big area, right? So do they all just pretty much share the water and food? Also, I should know this… But do you have a boy bunny? Cause if so, you must keep him separate from the girls, correct? Cause if you didnt you’d always be having babies…

    Like

  2. This was super cool! You’re bunnies sound like they’re well cared for! Aww, does Maggie really want the bunnies? Has she ever caught one?? :O

    Like

  3. Hey, I don’t mind the bunny posts! I like bunnies! XD And even though you’re blog’s not a doll one, I still love it! ๐Ÿ˜€ My BFF’s in Texas have animals too – it’s kinda fun to help feed their chickens and goats when I visit their house. (And chase the baby chicks that have a professional career in escaping…) -__- LOL!
    โ€ขMadiโ€ข

    Like

  4. Oh cool! ๐Ÿ˜€ I sort of wondered what all you do to feed and water the rabbits! ๐Ÿ˜€ Now I know that they can eat willow leaves! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Are you sure that Willow isn’t the only one that can eat them!? XD Haha!! ๐Ÿ˜› ๐Ÿ™‚ Sorry…that was weird.. ๐Ÿ˜› We’ve helped our friends feed their rabbits before, but that’s about it! ๐Ÿ˜› ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for posting this! And I like rabbit posts … like…a lot! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ˜€
    OOH! I need to get your b-day stuff sent! :O ๐Ÿ˜€ I have most of it MOSTLY ready to send.. Argh! Sorry if it gets there late, Megan. ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ˜€ WOW!!! ๐Ÿ˜€ I just remembered how old you are going to be! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Cool! XD haha!! ๐Ÿ˜› You should make the pinata a blue and white striped one! ๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

Leave a Comment! (Please, keep it clean. No "OMG" or cursing/swearing/taking God's name in vain please.)

