AAWC Story: Teach Me How to Fly

Hello guys, I’m here today with an AAWC story for all of y’all. (By the way, I rarely use “y’all” in real life, I just had an urge. XD ) Misty is hosting this challenge, and for the first one I was supposed to use the word ‘reflection’ in it. I could also use the name of my team in my story to get bonus points, so I put in plenty of eagles (I’m on Team Eagle ๐Ÿ˜‰ ).

Mine is rather short. It’s only 256 words…. Ah, who cares. Okay, so you care. I’m sorry, I don’t feel like re-writing this… anyway, here it is! Not my best writing ever but (MEGAN STOP CRITICIZING) okay. GO.


 

I cupped my hands around the fluttering form of a tiny butterfly.

How do you fly, little thing? What is your secret?

I held up my hand and watched it flutter above my head, joining another in a beautiful butterfly dance. Much, much higher above them flew two eagles. Why couldnโ€™t I have wings? I could fly into the sky and forget my troubles.

Teach me your secrets, eagles. Teach me.

I glanced at my reflection in the pond. A tear slid down my cheek and plunked into the water, sending ripples across the pond. Soon the ripples cleared and I gasped as I looked into the pond again. On my shoulders sat a pair of lavender wings, growing larger by the second.ย  I flapped them and flew after the butterflies. Then I flew higher to join the eagles.

Keep dreaming, I told myself, please donโ€™t wake up now.

And I didnโ€™t. The eagles joined me as I flew to the clouds. I gazed down and the pond, now I teeny-tiny mirror, and I could see the reflection of my face. I was happy up there, the wings, the butterflies, the eagles, they made me so happy. I wanted to hug the cloud, but clouds are not huggable, so I brushed the tip of my wing on one of the eagles. Then the eagles dove down to the pond, catching up fish in their mighty talons. I flew back to the butterflies and waited for the alarm clock to start beeping, finally ready to wake up.


Eh. Not very good.ย 

Goodbye now, everyone.

meganssignoffdaffodils

34 thoughts on “AAWC Story: Teach Me How to Fly

  1. I thought it was good! ๐Ÿ™‚ I liked the last part you put in there too! ๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿ˜€ GO EAGLES!!! WHOOOOOOO! YOU CAN DO IT! XD Sorry. :/ XD ๐Ÿ˜›

    Like

  2. Megan, this is beautiful! I loved it! Great job!
    Er, I mean, it’s good – for someone on Team Eagle.
    (LOL! ๐Ÿ˜› )
    ๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜› XD
    ~The Girl Upstairs

    Like

Leave a Comment! (Please, keep it clean. No "OMG" or cursing/swearing/taking God's name in vain please.)

